Career Diplomats – Need of the Hour

There was a time when I used to hate politics and believed that only clowns run this business … until my father started discussing it with me in an interesting story-telling manner. Since then I have developed a liking for observing the local and global political scenarios. This perhaps is the reason I am always looking for different perspectives because they always teach me a thing or two. Needless to say every time I come across “one gem of an article”. This time around, it is Pushing mediocrity or promoting innovation?


This piece by Tahir Habib Siddiqui is indeed an eye opener. With the help of real-life scenarios, he has eloquently emphasized on the importance of getting rid of run of the mill practices in international relations and focusing on innovative solutions if we want to survive in this ever-evolving global village.

One way to do so is to have career diplomats that are experts at what they do. They are selected on the basis of merit and are free from any influence. This will not only establish a defined policy but will also bring consistency in plans, which is exactly what we need right now.

He totally agrees, so do I, with the new decision of the current government to promote meritocracy and giving chance to the fresh blood. Looking forward to a positive “change” in our diplomatic policies soon.

Read more here https://tribune.com.pk/story/1862285/6-pushing-mediocrity-promoting-innovation/

Fingers crossed!

 

 

Leave a comment